Management structure

Governance and Advisory Board (GAB)

The purpose of this board is to set the strategic directions of ARELEN, including the vision, purpose and activities of ARELEN. It is not concerned with the actual operation of the network for which the steering committee is in charge. The GAB will normally convene once a year to monitor ARELEN progress and to steer the strategic development. This meeting could take place virtually or possibly in conjunction with the Association of Arab Universities' conference.

Governance & Advisory Board	
Professor. Amr Ezzat Salama (President)	
Professor. Mohamed Loutfi (Vice- President)	
Mr. David Lock (Secretary General)	
European Universities	
Professor. John Latham Vice- Chancellor, Coventry University, UK www.coventry.ac.uk	
Professor. Francesco Ubertini Rector, University of Bologna, Italy www.unibo.it	

Professor. Ricardo Rivero Ortega Rector, University of Salamanca, Spain www.usal.es	
Professor. Iwan Davies Vice Chancellor, Bangor University, Wales, UK www.bangor.ac.uk	
Professor. Dídac Ramírez i Sarrió Rector, University of Barcelona, Spain. www.ub.edu	
Professor Todor Radev President, Varna University, Bulgaria https://vum.bg	
Professor. Dimitrios Tsougarakis Former Vice Chancellor, Ionian University, Greece. https://ionio.gr/	
Arab Universities	
Professor. Ismail Abdel Ghaffar President, The Arab Academy for Science and Technology. The Arab League. www.AAST.edu	
Professor. Essam Elkordi President, Alexandria University, Egypt https://www.alexu.edu.eg/	

Professor. Hatem Alamy Chairman, Modern University of Business and Science, Lebanon. www.mubs.edu.lb	
Professor. Riyad Hamzah President, Bahrain University http://www.uob.edu.bh	
Professor. Tariq Obaide President, Superior Institute of Science and Technology, Morocco. https://www.sist.ac.ma/	
Professor. Maher Salim President, Amman Arab University, Jordan. https://www.aau.edu.jo/en	
Professor.Mashhour Alrefai President, Princess Somayya University, Jordan. https://www.psut.edu.jo/	
Professor. Ahmed El Gohary President, Egypt Japan University for Science and Technology, Egypt. https://ejust.edu.eg	

Co-Opted Members	
Mr. AbouBakr Fathalla Birmingham City UniversityUK www.bcu.ac.uk	
Professor. Ali Shams El-Din Former President of Benha University http://bu.edu.eg/	
Organizations (Ex-Officio Members)	
Professor. Sijbolt Noorda President of the Council, The Manga Charta Observatory. http://www.magna-charta.org	
Professor. Luciano Sasso President, Network of Universities of the Capital Cities of Europe (UNIICA) http://www.unica-network.eu	
Professor. Nasser Al Qahtani Director General, Arab Administrative Development Organization (ARADO) The Arab League https://www.arado.org	
Mrs. Lesley Wilson Secretary General, European Universities Association www.eua.eu	
Ms. Alison Johns, Chief Executive, Advanced HE, UK https://www.advance-he.ac.uk/	

Honorary Members	
Professor. Hossam Badrawi Chairman, Badrawi Foundation https://badrawifoundation.org/	
Mr. Salah Khalil Chairman, MACAT International https://www.macat.com/	
Professor. Yasser Elshayeb National Erasmus Coordinator in Egypt	
Professor. Alfredo Moscardini Strategic advisor / Northumbria University www.northumbria.ac.uk	
Mr. Bastian Baumann Managing Director, European Quality Assurance Agency. https://eqaa.eu/en/	
Prof.Iman El-Kaffas Individual Management and Organizational Development Consultant Executive Director, GOLEAD, Canada & Sr. Advisor, Capacity Development and Organizational Transformation, UN/FAO-GFAR	

ARELEN Executive Committee

The Executive board will be responsible for operational, financial and administrative management of the management. Business development and implementation of the strategic direction set by the Governance and Advisory Board.

Executive Committee	
Prof. Mohamed Loutfi (Vice- President)	
Mr. David Lock (Secretary General)	
Mr. AbouBakr Fathalla Birmingham City University -UK	
Ms. Cindy Vallance Assistant Director of Knowledge, Innovation and Delivery, Advanced HE, UK https://www.advance-he.ac.uk/	
Professor. Todor Radev President – Varna University of Management https://vum.bg	
Dr. Hanan Gouda Dean, Arab Institute of Leadership Development The Arab Academy for Science and Technology. www.AAST.edu	
Dr Nael Alami Provost, Modern University of Business and Science, Lebanon. www.mubs.edu.lb	